Alabama’s current Marital and Domestic Relations Code is codified as Title 30 of the Code of Alabama 1975 and is online.
In Alabama, each marriage license applicant must be at least 18 years of age, must present a valid driver’s license or birth certificate, and must provide a Social Security number. If an applicant was divorced within the prior six months, then that applicant must provide a copy of the final divorce decree. According to Section 30-2-10 of the Alabama Code, there is a sixty (60) day restriction on getting married after a divorce.
The applicants need not be residents of Alabama; some counties, however, may require nonresident applicants to wait three days before having a county marriage official perform the wedding ceremony.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option in Alabama. There is no waiting period in Alabama except after being divorced. However, there is a 60 day waiting period after the divorce is final.
Blood or medical tests are not required.
There are no Proxy Marriages in Alabama. Cousin Marriages are permitted in Alabama. Common Law Marriages are also allowed. Same Sex Marriages are permitted in Alabama.
If either of the couple is under 18, a certified copy of birth certificate is necessary. Both parents must be present with identification, or if there is a legal guardian, they must be present with a court order and identification. The state also requires a $200 bond to be executed, payable to the State of Alabama. If one or both parents are deceased, proper evidence of such must be provided. According to the Alabama Code Section 30-1-4, individuals under the age of 16 may not marry.
An Alabama marriage license is valid for a period of thirty days. Licensed ministers or pastors of recognized religious societies and current or retired Alabama judges may lawfully perform weddings in Alabama.