The Alaska Marital and Domestic Relations Code is codified as Title 25 of the Alaska Statutes.The Alaska Marriage Code is codified as Chapter 5 of Title 25 of the Alaska Statutes.
In Alaska, Picture ID such as a driver’s license is necessary for the marriage license. The applicants do not have to be residents of Alaska. If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.
There is no Covenant Marriage in Alaska. The waiting period is three (3) business days. The Fees is $40. Blood or medical tests are not required.
Proxy marriage is not permitted in Alaska. Cousin Marriage is permitted. Common Law Marriage is not permitted. Same Sex Marriages is permitted.
If the applicants are under 18, a certified copy of birth certificate is needed, both parents must be present with identification, or if there is a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.
A minister, priest, recognized leader, or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state, a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army, marriage commissioner, or a judicial officer of the state can be the officiants.
Additionally, Alaska allows a friend or relative to perform marriage ceremony.
License is valid for ninety (90) days anywhere in Alaska.