SHOW SUPPORT TO UKRAINEDONATE
Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

California

California legislation regarding marriage is codified as Division 3, Parts 1-3 of the California Family Code. California’s apparently unique law regarding confidential marriage is codified as Division 3, Part 4 of the California Family Code. Registration of a domestic partnership under California Law is codified as Division 2.5 of the California Family Code.

California requires a picture Id such as Drivers License or other valid identification for marriage license. Some counties recommend bringing certified copies of birth certificates.

The applicant does not have to be a resident of California to apply for a marriage license.

The applicants must know where each of their parents were born and the names of their parents including mother’s maiden name.

If the applicants have lived together as a married couple, they can apply for a confidential license which means there is no public record of marriage.

The applicant must show proof of divorce, death or annulment. They need to bring a copy of final divorce decree if divorced within the 90 days through past year.

There is no waiting period in California.

The fee is $45.00+ to get married in California.

Blood tests are not required.

If either the bride or groom is under 18, at least one of the minor’s parents, or legal guardian, must appear with the couple. Certified copies of birth certificates are required.

Proxy marriages are allowed in California but on a very limited basis. Only members of the armed forces who are stationed far away in wars or conflicts can apply for a proxy marriage. The California proxy marriage law allows military personnel to give their power of attorney for someone to stand in for them during their wedding ceremony.
Cousin Marriages are allowed.  Common Law Marriages are not allowed in California.  Same Sex Marriages are allowed.

Clergy, Justices, Judges, Magistrates, or Marriage Commissioners can be the officiants. A few California counties allow a member of  family or a friend to officiate at civil marriage ceremony.
License is valid for 90 days.


Inside California