Connecticut law requires the applicants to present photo Id such as a driver’s license or a passport. The applicant also needs to know the social security numbers, mother’s maiden name, parents’ birthplaces, date and location of the wedding and name and contact info of wedding officiant.
The applicants do not have to be residents of Connecticut.
If previously married, the applicant will need to show divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of previous spouse. If name has changed, the applicant needs to bring a certified copy of divorce decree.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option in Connecticut.There is no waiting period in Connecticut.The fee is $30-$35 approximately. Fee may vary from county to county.
Common Law Marriages are not allowed in Connecticut. Proxy marriages are also not allowed in Connecticut. Cousin Marriages and Same-Sex Marriages are allowed.
If under sixteen years of age, the written consent of the judge of probate for the district where the minor resides must be obtained. Written parental consent is needed if under 18 years of age.
Judges, retired judges, Connecticut state referees, Connecticut justices of the peace, and ordained or license clergymen may perform weddings in Connecticut. If a friend or relative wants to perform wedding ceremony, they can if an authorized officiator is also present to confirm marriage ceremony and to sign marriage license.
A marriage license in Connecticut is valid for sixty-five days and is only valid in Connecticut.