The applicants do not have to be residents of Kansas.
Both of the applicants do not have to be present when applying for the license. If only one of the applicants is present, the applicant will need to have all the documentation and know the information that would be required from the future spouse.
Driver’s license and the social security card, or other type of photo identification is required.
If either of the applicants were previously married, the applicant will need to know the date of the final divorce decree or death of spouse. The applicant may need to wait 30 days past the date of the final decree before being allowed to get remarried.
Fee is $50 for the license plus a $25 surcharge. Kansas has a three day waiting period. No other tests are necessary in Kansas.
Proxy Marriages and cousin marriages are not allowed in Kansas. “A common law marriage will be recognized in Kansas if the couple considers themselves to be married and publicly holds themselves out to be married and if they are legally eligible to marry. No minimum period of cohabitation is required.”
The minimum age to get married is 15 in Kansas. Teens who are 16 or 17 years old need to obtain either parental, or legal guardian permission and judicial consent, or receive permission from both parents or legal guardian.
Judges of a court record or any ordained ministers may perform wedding ceremonies in Kansas.
A Kansas marriage license is valid for 6 months.