If the applicants are over 24 years of age, the applicant will need to show the driver’s licenses. Otherwise the applicants need to provide the birth certificate or a passport. The applicants also need to provide the Social Security numbers.
The applicants do not have to be residents of Maine, although residents need to apply in one of the towns in which they reside.
If previously married, the applicant will need to show a certified copy of the divorce from or death certificate of the last spouse. There is no waiting period. There are no other tests.
Proxy Marriages and Common Law Marriages are not legal. Cousin Marriage is allowed. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
Those who are 16 or 17 years old will need parental consent. Anyone under the age of 16 needs written parental consent and the written approval of a judge.
Any ordained ministers or clergymen who have been licensed by the secretary of State, along with notaries public and members of the Maine Bar can be the officiants. The applicants need two witnesses at the Maine wedding ceremony.
The Maine marriage license is valid for 90 days.
Get Married on a holiday, and you don’t have to take the day off… Maine Holiday Schedule