If the applicants are between 18 – 21, the applicant must provide identification in the form of a drivers license or birth certificate. Only one applicant needs to be present. The applicants do not have to be residents of Maryland.
If previously married, Maryland requires that the applicant show the divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of the previous spouse.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option. There is a waiting period of 48 hours in Maryland to get married. It will cost the applicant between $35 – $60.00 to get married in Maryland. If the applicants have completed a state recognized pre-marital preparation course, the applicant may receive a discount on the license fee. Blood test is not required.
Proxy Marriages and Cousin Marriages are not allowed. Common Law Marriages are not allowed.
Parental consent is needed if under 18 years of age. If the applicants are between 16-18 years of age, one of the parents or guardian must be with the applicant and provide written consent. If the applicants are under 16 years of age, the applicant will need both the written consent of the custodial parent or guardian and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans’ Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.
Official of a religious order or a deputy clerk or a judge can be the officiants.
License is valid for 6 months.