Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.


Proper identification is necessary in Massachusetts. The applicant may be required to show a certified birth certificate.

As of May 17, 2004 same-sex couples can get married in Massachusetts.

There are no special requirements for previously married applicants. There is no Covenant Marriage Option.

Massachusetts has a three-day (3) waiting period. The applicant may go to court and obtain a court order to waive the three-day waiting period.

It will cost the applicant between $4 and $50 to get married in Massachusetts. Each Massachusetts community can set their own fees.

Proxy Marriages are not legal. However, if one of the applicants is in the military, or is incarcerated, the other may make application for the marriage license for both of the applicant.

Cousin Marriages are allowed.  Common Law Marriages are not allowed. If the applicants are under 18 years old, the applicant will need a court order from either a probate court or district court in the locale where the applicant live in order to apply for a marriage license.

Any ordained ministers or clergymen, and justices of the peace may perform weddings in Massachusetts. Witnesses are not required in Massachusetts.

License is valid for sixty (60) days.

Inside Massachusetts