The applicants do not have to be residents of Montana. Certified copy of birth certificate or driver’s license and Social Security numbers are required on the application.
If married before, the applicant will need to show a certified copy of the divorce decree.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option. Montana does not have a waiting period unless the applicants are under the age of 18. It will cost the applicant approximately $58.00 to get married in Montana – cash only.
In Montana, the bride is required to take a blood test for rubella unless she is over 50 years old.
Although double-proxy marriages are allowed in Montana, not all Montana counties provide this service. One of the applicants has to either be a resident of Montana or a member of the armed forces.
Cousin Marriages and Same Sex Marriages are not allowed. Common Law Marriages are legal.
If the applicants are 16 or 17 years old, the applicant must have the consent of both parents unless only one parent has legal custody of the applicant. Proof of age must be in the form of a certified copy of the birth certificate. No one 15 years of age or the younger may marry in Montana.
Any ordained or licensed clergymen, mayor, city judge, tribal judge, and justices of the peace can be the officiants.
License is valid for 180 days.