The applicant will need picture ID such as a driver’s license or passport. Social Security numbers are also required. The applicant will be asked to provide the names of the parents and the parent’s birthplaces. The applicants do not have to be residents of Nebraska.
If previously married, the applicant need to provide the date the previous marriage ended. The applicant may need to wait for six months before getting remarried.
There is no Covenant Marriage. There is no waiting period in Nebraska. The applicant will need $15 in cash to get married in Nebraska.
Blood test is not required.
Proxy Marriages, Cousin Marriages and Common Law Marriage are not allowed.
A certified copy of the birth certificate and a notarized consent form must be signed by the person’s legal guardian giving consent to the marriage of the minor. Nebraska will not issue a marriage license if either applicant is under 17 years of age.
Any ordained minister, and all judges, including retired judges, and clerk magistrates can be the officiants. Two witnesses are required to be present at the marriage ceremony.
License is valid for 1 year anywhere in Nebraska.