The applicant will need photo identification, such as the driver’s license. If the applicants are 25 years or younger, they may be asked to show a certified copy of the birth certificate. They will also need to provide Social Security numbers. The applicants do not have to be residents of New Hampshire.
If previously married, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required. There is no waiting period in New Hampshire and there is no blood test requirement. The applicant will need to pay $45 in cash to get married in New Hampshire.
Individuals under the age of 18 may not marry in New Hampshire without parental approval and a judicial waiver. Brides must be at least 13 years of age and grooms must be at least 14 years of age before their parents can apply for a judicial waiver.
Proxy Marriages, Cousin Marriages and Common-Law Marriages are not allowed in New Hampshire.
Weddings can be solemnized by a judge, supreme court justice, assistant judge, justice of the peace, priest, rabbi, or minister residing in New Hampshire.
A marriage license in New Hampshire is valid for ninety (90) days.