The applicants do not have to be residents of New Jersey. The applicant must apply at the Registrar at the municipal office where the bride resides.
There is no Covenant Marriage. If the applicants are under 18 years of age, the applicant will need both parents to give consent in front of two witnesses in order for the applicant to receive a marriage license. Those under 16 need judicial approval.
Cousin Marriages are allowed. Common Law Marriages are not allowed.Proxy Marriages are also not allowed.
If previously married, the applicant will need to show documentation to prove a previous marriage has been dissolved either through death or divorce. Acceptable documents include a certified copy of the final decree of divorce or a certified copy of the death certificate for the former spouse.
The applicant will need a witness who is over 18 years of age with the applicant when applying for the marriage license.
Judges of a Federal District Court, United States magistrates, Judges of a Municipal Court, Judges of the Superior Court, Judges of a Tax Court, Retired judges of the Superior Court, Judge or the Superior or Tax Court who has resigned in good standing, any Mayor/Deputy Mayor or Chairman of any Township Committee, Village President of New Jersey, County Clerks, and every minister of every religion can be the officiants.
The New Jersey state laws state that a marriage license is valid only for thirty (30) days in New Jersey.