The applicant must show proof of age in North Carolina by providing the driver’s license, Military or State ID, passport or certified birth certificate.The applicant will also need to show proof of the Social Security number. The applicant does not have to be a resident of North Carolina.
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse’s death must be supplied. If the divorce was within 60 days, a signed copy of the divorce decree will need to be shown.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option. North Carolina does not have a waiting period. North Carolina does not require the applicant to have any blood tests or physical exams.
Proxy Marriages and Common Law Marriages are not allowed. Cousin Marriages are allowed. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
Anyone under 20 years of age will need to show a certified copy of their birth certificate. If the applicants are between 16 and 17 years old, the applicant will have to show parental consent. Those who are 14 to 15 years old, the applicant can’t get a marriage license without a court order. Anyone under 14 years of age cannot get married.
Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and magistrates can be the officiants. Two witnesses are required.
License is valid for sixty (60) days.