The applicant does not have to be a resident of North Dakota. Non-residents need to acquire their marriage license in the county where they plan to marry. Driver’s licenses and social security cards are required. If the applicant do not have a driver’s license, a certified copy of the birth certificate is acceptable.
If previously married, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required. A plain copy of the death certificate is required if the spouse is deceased.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option. There is no waiting period in North Dakota. It will cost the applicant approximately $65.00 to get married in North. No tests are required.
Proxy Marriages, Cousin Marriages, Common Law Marriages are not allowed. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
If the applicants are between 16 and 18 years old, the applicant will need the notarized consent of the parents.
Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and justices of the peace can be the officiants.
License is valid for 60 days.