The applicant will need to present photo identification such as the driver’s license, state ID, or passport. Social Security numbers will be requested. The applicant does not have to be a resident of Pennsylvania.
If previously married, the applicant will need to show a certified copy of the final divorce decree, with court raised seal, of the divorce or annulment decree or know the date of death of a deceased spouse.
There’s a three (3) day waiting period in Pennsylvania. It will cost the applicant approximately $40 – $75 to get married in Pennsylvania. There will not be any other tests.
Proxy Marriages, Cousin Marriages and Common-Law Marriages are not allowed in Pennsylvania. Common-law marriage will be recognized in Pennsylvania if it was created before January 1, 2005. Same Sex Marriages are allowed in Pennsylvania
If either of the applicant are under 18 years of age, the applicant must pay an additional $5.00, show the Birth Certificate, and have the written consent of a parent or guardian. Anyone under 16 years of age needs parental consent and the approval of a Judge of the Orphans Court.
Any ordained minister, priest or rabbi of any regularly established church or congregation, Judges, Justices of Peace, and County Clerks or their appointed Deputies may perform wedding ceremonies. Mayors of cities and boroughs are also authorized to perform marriage ceremonies.
License is valid for sixty (60) days.