In South Dakota, Driver’s licenses or a certified copy of the birth certificate is acceptable. The applicant does not have to be a resident of South Dakota.
If previously married, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required. A plain copy of the death certificate is required if the spouse is deceased.
There is no waiting period. South Dakota does not require any tests.
Proxy Marriages, Cousin Marriages, Common Law Marriages are not allowed in South Dakota. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
Those under 16 years of age may not get married in South Dakota.Any ordained or licensed clergymen, justices of the supreme court, judges of the circuit court, magistrates, and justices of the peace can be the officiants.
License is valid for 20 days.