The applicant will need a valid driver’s license or certified birth certificate or valid passport to get married in Tennessee. The applicant must also provide the Social Security number. The applicant do not have to be a resident of Tennessee.
The applicant will need to show a copy of the divorce decree, if previously married.
There is no Covenant Marriage Option. There is no waiting period. The fee for a marriage license varies from $93.50 – $99.50. Blood test is not required.
Proxy Marriages are not allowed. Marriage to a first cousin is allowed. Common Law Marriages are not allowed. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
If either party is under the age of 18, they must be accompanied by parents. If under the age of 16, Tennessee law requires that the couple receives a court order before being allowed to marry.
Any ordained or licensed clergymen over the age of 18, and justices of the peace, members of county legislative bodies, county executives and former county executives, current and former judges and chancellors of this state, current and former judges of general sessions courts, current and former governors of this state, the county clerk of each county, current and former speakers of the senate and speakers of the house of representatives, and Mayors of municipalities can be the officiants.
The marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days.