In Texas, the applicant will need one valid form of id such as drivers license, certified copy of the birth certificate, U. S. passport, military ID card, and the Social Security number.
If divorced within thirty days, Texas requires that the applicant show a certified copy of the divorce decree stating the 30 day waiting period is waived.
The 72 hours (3 days) waiting period in Texas can be waived for active duty military personnel. The fees may vary from Texas county to county. Blood tests or medical examinations are not required in Texas.
Texas refers to common law marriage as an informal marriage.
If the applicants are between 16 and 17 years old, they may apply for a marriage license in Texas only if the applicant has written parental consent on an official form in the presence of the county clerk or if the applicant has received an order from the Texas district court authorizing the marriage.
Proxy Marriages are legal in Texas. Cousin Marriages are not allowed. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
Persons authorized to perform weddings in Texas include licensed or ordained Christian ministers, priests, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized by religious organizations, justices of the supreme court, judges of the court of criminal appeals, justices of the courts of appeals, judges of the district, county, and probate courts, judges of the county courts at law, judges of the courts of domestic relations, judges of the juvenile courts, retired justices or judges, justices of the peace, retired justices of the peace, and judges or magistrates of a federal court of Texas.
The license is valid in Texas for 30 days.