Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.


Driver’s licenses or a certified copy of the birth certificate is acceptable. The applicant will need to know the mothers’ maiden names, and the states where the parents were born. The applicants do not have to be residents of Vermont.

If previously married, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required. A plain copy of the death certificate is all that is required if the spouse is deceased.

There is no Covenant Marriage Option. There is no waiting period. The fee is $45.00 plus $10.00 for a certified copy of the license. No other tests are required in Vermont.

Proxy Marriages and Common Law Marriages are illegal. Cousin Marriage is allowed. Vermont became the fourth state to allow gay marriages and the first state to approve same-sex marriage by a vote of the legislature.

Applicants under the age of 18, but older than 16, need signed parental or guardian consent. Current law states that no one under the age of 14 can get married.

Authorized persons to perform weddings in Vermont are judges, supreme court justices, assistant judges, justice of the peaces, and ordained or licensed clergymen.

License is valid for 60 days.

Inside Vermont