The applicant must bring the driver’s license with the current address or two pieces of mail with the current address, Social Security Number, and have a certified copy of the birth certificate. One of the applicant needs to have resided for at least 30 days in the Wisconsin county where the applicant are applying. If the applicants are from out-of-state, they must apply in the county where the ceremony will take place.
In Wisconsin, the applicant must show proof of divorce, death, or civil annulment from the most recent marriage. The applicant needs to wait six months after a divorce before getting remarried.
There is a waiting period of five days in Wisconsin, exclusive of the day the applicant applies. There is no Covenant Marriage Option. Wisconsin does not require that the applicant take any blood tests.
Proxy marriages are not allowed in Wisconsin. Cousin marriages are generally not allowed in Wisconsin, though depending on certain circumstances, such as when the bride is 55 years of age or older, cousins may be allowed to marry. Common law marriages are not recognized in Wisconsin. Same Sex Marriages are allowed.
If either the bride or groom is under 18, the applicant must have written, notarized consent from his or her parents or guardian. If either of the applicants is under the age of 16, the applicant may not get married in Wisconsin.
Ordained member of the clergy, a judge, a court commissioner, or certain religious appointees can be the officiants.
A Wisconsin marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days.